What the Outlive doctor takes, how he trains for his last decade, what he has quietly changed, and which parts you can copy for free.
This in-depth guide covers everything you need to know about peter attia supplements, training and outlive protocol. Based on verified income data and real-world case studies from our database of 138 side hustle tactics.
Peter Attia's supplements, as compiled from several of his Q&As in a May 2024 summary, are mostly ordinary: high-EPA fish oil, vitamin D, several forms of magnesium, methylfolate and B12, a little B6, ashwagandha and glycine, according to a summary published by Rhonda Patrick's FoundMyFitness. The bigger part of his protocol is exercise, built on four pillars he names on his own site: stability, strength, aerobic Zone 2 work and high-intensity Zone 5 work. Most of it can be copied for close to nothing, and the part that costs his patients six figures is the doctor's time.
Who Peter Attia is, and what his patients pay
Attia is a physician trained at Stanford and Johns Hopkins who spent two years at the National Institutes of Health as a surgical oncology fellow at the National Cancer Institute, according to his about page. He founded Early Medical, "a medical practice that applies the principles of Medicine 3.0," hosts The Peter Attia Drive podcast, and wrote the #1 New York Times bestseller Outlive: The Science and Art of Longevity.
The practice is where the money is. In an October 2025 60 Minutes report, CBS News said Attia does not disclose the exact annual fee, and reported that his patients pay "hundreds of thousands of dollars a year." When pressed, Attia described the "six-figure program" as costing "much closer to $100,000 than $500,000." Online figures of $150,000 a year circulate widely, but I could not trace them to a primary report, so treat the CBS wording as the best public number.
So what does a person get for that kind of fee? Mostly access: frequent testing, a doctor who reads every result, and someone who builds and adjusts a training plan around your life. You cannot buy that time for less. You can, though, borrow the framework he gives away, because nearly all of it is public.
If the idea of paying a doctor directly for time interests you at a normal price point, the sibling post on concierge medicine cost covers what that market charges.
The Outlive framework in plain words
Medicine 3.0
Attia splits medicine into eras. A Harvard Law School Petrie-Flom Center review of Outlive summarizes Medicine 2.0 as the era of the scientific method, germ theory and randomized trials, and says "Medicine 3.0 represents a shift from reactive to proactive." Attia put it more simply to CBS: "So the first principle of Medicine 3.0 is you have to take a much longer arc on the prevention of chronic disease."
In practice that means looking for trouble decades early. Regular medicine waits for a diagnosis. Attia's version asks what your risk looks like at 40 if the goal is a good life at 90.
The four horsemen
The book focuses on four chronic diseases that kill most people. The Petrie-Flom review lists them as "heart disease, cancer, neurodegenerative disease, and type 2 diabetes with associated metabolic dysfunction." The Outlive page on Attia's site makes the same case: mainstream medicine "has failed to make much progress against the diseases of aging that kill most people," and often intervenes too late, "prolonging lifespan at the expense of healthspan."
Which of the four runs in your family? That single question tells you where to spend your attention first, and it costs nothing to answer.
The marginal decade
The idea that gives the book its emotional pull is the last ten years of life. Attia told CBS: "The marginal decade's not going anywhere. We will all have a final decade of life," and "My goal is to make the marginal decade as enjoyable as possible." In the show notes for episode #261, filmed live in front of readers of Outlive and released in July 2023, his team writes that for most people the marginal decade "is really a period of poor life quality," with physical and often cognitive decline.
The centenarian decathlon
This is the part most readers remember. In AMA #05 from April 2019, Attia describes "backcasting": start with what you want to be able to do at 100, then work backwards to what you must be able to do at 80, 60 and today. His own list ran to 18 tasks. The show notes include:
- Get up off the floor using only one arm for support
- Drop into a squat and pick up a 30-pound child
- Lift 30 pounds overhead, like a suitcase into an overhead bin
- Get out of a pool without a ladder
- Walk up three flights of stairs carrying 10 pounds of groceries in each hand
Each task maps to one or more of his four pillars. The goblet squat, for example, trains both strength and stability. What would be on your list at 100? Write five items and you have done the most useful exercise in the book.
Peter Attia's training: the four pillars
Attia's site describes exercise as possibly "the most potent 'drug' we have for extending the quality and perhaps quantity of our years of life," and calls stability "the foundation." He told CBS that "The best drug to delay physical and cognitive decline is exercise" (that line is CBS paraphrasing him).
Stability
The 2019 AMA show notes say stability is where most people start to fail first, and Attia recommends working on static stability first, then dynamic, and folding it into strength workouts. The same notes say we are born able to squat and start to lose it in our school years from all the sitting. Stability work looks dull: slow single-leg balance, breathing drills, carries with good posture. It is also the cheapest pillar. All you need is a floor.
Strength
His site puts it bluntly: "Never in the history of human civilization has a 90-year-old said, 'I wish I had less muscle.'" Strength in his framework means the ability to produce force, and it protects every item on the decathlon list. The US physical activity guidelines ask adults for muscle-strengthening activity on at least 2 days each week. Two solid sessions already clear that public bar.
Zone 2 training
Zone 2 is the steady effort that made Attia famous in fitness circles. It is also where his advice has changed the most.
In an August 2026 newsletter, A better way to think about Zone 2, Attia admits he "probably contributed" to the confusion around it by being very prescriptive, and writes that "Zone 2 training is a means to an end." He now frames cardio as a triangle. The base is your capacity for long, easy work. The peak is your VO2 max. Zone 2 builds the base cheaply because it is low in fatigue.
How much Zone 2 you need now depends on your time:
- With seven or more hours a week, he expects "the large majority" at lower intensity, and calls an 80:20 split of easy to hard a useful heuristic.
- With six hours, he suggests roughly four hours of Zone 2 and two hours of harder work.
- With only two hours, he "might skip a dedicated Zone 2 training altogether" and put the time into two harder sessions.
He also simplified how to find it. For most people he prefers the "talk test": Zone 2 "corresponds to an effort at which you can still speak in complete sentences, but you'd rather not carry on a conversation." He adds that fitness trackers' heart rate zones are "too inconsistent between users and between exercise types." One caveat he flags: for a deconditioned beginner, Zone 2 is often the right starting point, because pushing into hard work too early raises injury risk or kills adherence before a habit forms.
How many hours of cardio do you honestly have each week? That number decides your plan more than any heart rate chart does.
VO2 max training
VO2 max is the most oxygen your body can use at full effort. CBS describes it as Attia's key indicator: "the key indicator of overall health and longevity is a test called VO2 max."
The research behind his focus is strong for an observational finding. A 2018 Cleveland Clinic study in JAMA Network Open followed 122,007 adults referred for treadmill tests at the Cleveland Clinic, for a median of 8.4 years. Compared with the elite fitness group, the lowest fitness group had about five times the risk of death (adjusted hazard ratio 5.04), and the authors found the effect "comparable to or greater than" smoking, diabetes and coronary artery disease. The study shows an association. It cannot prove fitness alone caused the difference. The benefit of elite fitness showed up even in patients aged 70 and older.
The VO2 max session he describes in the 2026 newsletter, for someone with only two hours a week, is "4 minutes on and 4 minutes off," paced by rate of perceived exertion so the effort "should feel very hard, particularly toward the end." This sits close to the Norwegian 4x4 protocol. In the 2007 Helgerud trial, 40 healthy, moderately trained men were split into four groups. The 4x4 group ran four 4-minute intervals at 90 to 95% of max heart rate with 3 minutes of active rest, three days a week for eight weeks, and raised VO2 max by 7.2%, more than groups doing the same total work at a slower pace. That was a small trial in already fit men, so expect smaller or different numbers if you are older or new to training.
Hard intervals put real strain on the heart. If you have chest pain, a heart condition or have been inactive for years, talk to your doctor before you start.
Peter Attia supplements: what he has listed
I could not find a current, itemized supplement list on his free pages, so the most detailed account comes from his own Q&A answers, as summarized by Rhonda Patrick's team in May 2024. Patrick says her team built it by reviewing several of his Q&As and "might be missing something," and the page does not say when he said each item. Treat this as a snapshot.
| What he takes (2024 summary) | Reported dose | His stated reason | What the evidence says |
|---|
| High-EPA fish oil | 4 capsules, about 2 g EPA and 1.5 g DHA | Not stated | A large NEJM trial (VITAL) of 1 g a day found no drop in heart events or cancer among healthy men 50 and up and women 55 and up |
| Vitamin D | 5,000 IU a day | Not stated | Above the NIH adult upper limit of 4,000 IU; your doctor might go higher for a period of time to treat a deficiency |
| Magnesium (several forms, incl. L-threonate at night) | About 1 g elemental magnesium | Not stated | The NIH upper limit for supplemental magnesium is 350 mg for adults; high intakes can cause diarrhea, nausea and cramping |
| Methylfolate and methyl B12 | 400 mcg and 1,000 mcg | To keep homocysteine below 9 micromoles per liter | A target set by a blood test; copying it only makes sense if you test your own homocysteine |
| Vitamin B6 | 50 mg three times a week, cut from daily | He has seen B6 neuropathy in people who take too much | NIH says high amounts from supplements for a year or longer can cause severe nerve damage; the US adult upper limit is 100 mg, and the European Food Safety Authority set a 12 mg daily upper limit in 2023 |
| Ashwagandha | 600 mg | Not stated | NIH says it might help stress and anxiety, appears safe for up to 3 months, and has been linked to liver injury in some people |
| Glycine | 2 g | Not stated | I found no large trials for this use |
| Phosphatidylserine | 400 mg, only when traveling | Not stated | I found no large trials for this use |
| AG1 greens powder and a probiotic | Not stated | The probiotic is meant to help control glucose | I found no large independent trials showing either extends healthy life |
A few things stand out. Several of his doses sit above the NIH upper limits, which are set for healthy people taking supplements without supervision. The summary ties only his folate and B12 to a lab target (homocysteine), and gives no reason for the other doses. Copying any of them without your own testing and a doctor removes the safety net.
The other thing that stands out is how plain the list is. There is no exotic molecule here. If you want to compare it with a far longer stack, the sibling post on Bryan Johnson's supplements list shows the other end of the range, and the roundup of what supplements billionaires take shows which items keep showing up across rich people.
Check with your doctor before you try any of these, especially at the doses above. Vitamin D, magnesium, ashwagandha and fish oil can all interact with medicines (NIH notes, for example, that high doses of omega-3s may cause bleeding problems with warfarin), and ashwagandha may affect the thyroid.
How Attia says to judge any supplement
His most useful supplement advice is a method. In AMA #85 from May 2026, he argues that supplements "deserve far more skepticism than they often receive." He asks you to start with a measurable problem, a target and a time limit. His example: "My ApoB is 130 mg/dL," the goal is below 60, and the timeline is six months. Vague goals like "more energy" fail this test. In his words: "Poor problem definition almost guarantees some sort of false positive."
What problem would each pill in your cupboard solve, and how would you know if it worked? If you cannot answer that, his method says the pill has not earned its place.
Peter Attia's diet stance
Attia's nutrition advice is less about a named diet. His Outlive page tells readers to "forget about diets, and focus instead on nutritional biochemistry, using technology and data to personalize your eating pattern."
The one number he pushes hard is protein. In an August 2025 article on his site, he notes the US RDA is 0.8 g of protein per kg of body weight per day, and writes that he recommends double that: around 1.6 g/kg and up to 2.2 g/kg, or 0.8 to 1.0 g per pound. His argument is that the RDA was built on studies of mostly young, healthy, lean men and was always reported as a minimum.
For a 170-pound adult, his range works out to roughly 136 to 170 grams of protein a day. That is a lot of food. Everyday foods like eggs, milk, beans and canned fish can get you there without powders. People with kidney disease should ask a doctor before raising protein, and the same goes for anyone with a history of disordered eating, where tracking food closely can do harm.
What changed in Attia's protocol
Three shifts are on the public record.
Zone 2 got demoted to a tool. The 2026 newsletter quoted above replaces fixed Zone 2 targets with a time budget, the talk test and more emphasis on intervals for busy people.
Rapamycin is on pause. CBS reported in October 2025 that Attia had used rapamycin, a drug CBS describes as FDA-approved for transplant recipients, and had "stopped the drug for now because it gave him mouth sores." The evidence for rapamycin and other drugs taken for longevity sits in the sibling post on rapamycin and metformin for longevity.
B6 got cut back. Per the 2024 summary, he dropped vitamin B6 from daily to three times a week over nerve damage concerns.
Have you noticed that the experts who change their minds in public tend to be the ones worth listening to?
Attia ideas the research does not back
Some popular ideas built around Attia's work go further than the research does.
- Fish oil as a heart shield for healthy people. The VITAL trial found no drop in major cardiovascular events at 1 g a day. A secondary result hinted at fewer heart attacks, but the main outcome was flat.
- Copying high doses. His vitamin D and magnesium doses exceed the NIH upper limits. They make sense, if at all, only alongside blood tests.
- Zone 2 as magic. In his 2026 newsletter he calls Zone 2 "a tool that lets you accumulate more aerobic training than you otherwise could, while minimizing cost in recovery." Its value is volume with little fatigue.
- Precision heart rate zones from a watch. Attia says tracker zones are too inconsistent and coaches most patients by the talk test.
- Longevity drugs as a shortcut. Even Attia paused rapamycin over side effects, and CBS describes it as FDA-approved for transplant recipients. Never take a prescription drug for longevity without a doctor managing it.
- Greens powders and probiotics as longevity tools. I found no strong trials showing they extend healthy life.
Their price vs your price
| Item | What it costs at Attia's level (as of 2026) | Copy-it version | Rough cost |
|---|
| Doctor's time | Early Medical, "much closer to $100,000 than $500,000" a year (CBS) | A yearly physical with a lipid panel; ask about ApoB | Check what your insurance covers |
| His full content | Premium membership, $149 a year | Free podcast episodes and free newsletter articles | $0 |
| Outlive | Bookstore copy | Library copy | $0 |
| Zone 2 | Lab lactate testing | The talk test on a brisk walk or bike | $0 |
| VO2 max work | Lab-tested intervals | 4 minutes hard, 4 easy, on a hill or stairs | $0 |
| Strength | Coached sessions | Bodyweight squats, push-ups, one used kettlebell | $0 to the price of a kettlebell |
| Stability | Specialist sessions | Daily single-leg balance and floor get-ups | $0 |
| Supplements | A tested, tuned stack | Only what a blood test shows you need | Varies |
A cheap way to think about this: the doctor's fee is the only line you cannot copy. Everything else is time and effort.
Backcasting your money
Attia's whole method is backcasting: decide what you want at 100, then work backwards. That same move works for money. Decide what you want your life to look like at 60, then work out what you need at 45 and today. The post on how much money is enough walks through that exercise for income, and index investing is the boring, compounding engine most of those plans rely on.
If this topic lights you up, fitness coaching is also a real side income. The online fitness coaching guide covers how people get paid to build training plans like these for clients.
Your Outlive plan this week
Pick three of these and start them in the next seven days:
- Write your decathlon. Five physical tasks you want to do at 90. Test one today, like getting up off the floor with one hand.
- Book your cardio budget. Count your honest weekly hours. Under two? Do two interval sessions with 4 minutes hard and 4 easy. More time? Add easy, talk-test walks or rides.
- Lift twice. Two short strength sessions this week, even bodyweight only.
- Audit your supplements. For each bottle, write the problem it solves, your target number and the date you will check it. Anything without an answer goes on hold until you talk to your doctor.
- Eat more protein at breakfast. Eggs, yogurt or milk get you a long way toward his range for very little money.
Which of the five will you do first? Pick the one that costs nothing and takes ten minutes, then do it today.
This post is general information for adults. Talk to your doctor before starting supplements, high-dose vitamins, hard interval training or any drug.